• arrow
    LOG IN 
    • Log in using an option below.
         
      Forgot password?
      Login with Facebook
      Sign in with Twitter

  • REGISTER
ABOUT US
Contact Us Who Are We? Hall Of Fame Advertising With PG Games Archive
BEST GAMES
Best games on iPhone Best games on iPad Best games on Android
FREE STUFF
Best free games on iPhone Best free games on iPad Best free games on Android Competitions
GAME SALES
iPhone game sales iPad game sales Android game sales
UPDATED GAMES
Latest iPhone game updates Latest iPad game updates Latest Android game updates
NEW RELEASES
New iPhone games New iPad games New Android games
MORE PG SITES
PG.biz PG FRANCE PG Game Guides PG GameHubs PG Connects 2014
MORE SM SITES
AppSpy Free App Alliance 148 Apps Android Rundown iPhone Quality Index iPad Quality Index Android Quality Index Swipe Magazine Best App Ever Awards
PARTNERS
Metacritic
GameRankings
Pocket Gamer on NewsNow
GamesTracker
dx.net
UK Mobile Pages Directory
Skinflint Price Comparison
iPad  header logo

Rhino Raid

For: iPad   Also on: Android, iPhone

All for a good cause

Product: Rhino Raid | Developer: Flint Sky | Publisher: Flint Sky | Format: iPad | Genre: Platform | Players: 1 | Version: Europe
 
Rhino Raid iPad, thumbnail 1
We'll get this out of the way to begin with: the message behind Rhino Raid is a noble one, and should be championed to the high heavens.

If you aren't aware of the message, let me boil it down for you...

'Don't kill rhinos, because rhinos are cool.'

If you agree with that statement vehemently enough, you should definitely buy this game. By doing so, you will be donating cash to the WWF.

But separate the game from the message and you're left with a slightly underwhelming but ultimately entertaining auto-runner in which you butt a lot of poachers in an attempt to reunite two anthropomorphic rhino sweethearts.

Smash and grab

You control the sprinting bull rhino though a series of swipes. Swiping down results in a skid, swiping up results in a jump, and swiping right results in a goring charge. It's your job to catch up with the poachers who've stolen your lady love and give them a horn-based battering.

There are traps to leap over, barbed wire to slide under, and all manner of dastardly rustlers to stomp to death beneath your mighty rhino feet. By grabbing a Horn Bill, you gain an extra life. Oh, and there's a marks-out-of-three rating system on each of the levels.

Content is a little thin on the ground (plains?) here, to be honest, with Flint Sky offering just nine levels and three boss levels. Furthermore, the controls and collision detection are sometimes slightly off. The boss battles, by the way, involve your charging at a truck while bad guys hurl things at you. Rinse and repeat.

At least the presentation is top notch, with great chunky graphics and the story relayed to you via a series of neat comic book panels. There are plenty of rhino facts and figures dropped in, too, just to make sure you know why you're running.

Rhino going back

If you ignore the educational angle, Rhino Raid is somewhat lacking, though this is a game designed to hammer its message home as hard and directly as possible. Flint Sky isn't subtle in its outrage, and that's to the studio's credit.

If you're looking for a worthwhile cause to back, or a game that will teach your kids something, then you ought to make a charge for Rhino Raid on the App Store and Google Play.

If you're the sort who thinks charity, education, and fun have no place being in the same room, though, best to take your ice-cold heart elsewhere.
 
Rhino Raid
Reviewer photo
Harry Slater | 24 April 2013
Its cause is noble - and it's worth a purchase for that alone - but Rhino Raid could do with a few more levels to keep you invested in the experience
 
Have Your Say
Post a comment - Please log in to leave a comment
Pocket Gamer Biz     PG Login
Login with Facebook Sign in with Twitter
Show: Latest | Oldest
Joined:
Aug 2012
Post count:
31
Ivan Filipe | 00:13 - 27 April 2013
I tend to disagree with Harry most of the times.
That doesn't mean that he's bad or mental. We just have different tastes.
PG, welcome to trolling!
I found it strange that this haven't happened before.
At least will give you a lot of clicks and traffic.
And you guys deserve the extra cash. The amount of games released in the AppStore and the quantity of reviews that you guys o is huge.
Good work guys, and happy trolling! :)
Joined:
Nov 2011
Post count:
425
mr_bez | 13:33 - 25 April 2013
Sounds like you've just invented a five star rating system, Chris!

***** unmissable
**** pretty good
*** worth a shot
** avoid if possible
* avoid at all costs

And with exactly the same inherent problems as this system: "What, you said this was 'pretty good'? It read like it's 'worth a shot' at best!"
Joined:
Jul 2012
Post count:
506
Contest Chris | 09:48 - 25 April 2013
Then do away with the score totally. Just give it a rating, either unmissable, pretty good, worth a shot, avoid if possible and avoid at all costs. With that, everything is clearer. No?
Joined:
Apr 2013
Post count:
63
@harryslater | 09:41 - 25 April 2013
There are hundreds of thousands of games out there - even if PG started using a percentile scale, accurately capturing the nuances of a game's mechanics, style, and play would be impossible with a single number, let alone positioning it correctly on the impossible list of "which is best".

The scoring system puts a game in a generalised, ever swelling bracket - there are many, many 7's on the site, just like there are many reviewers writing their opinion. The numbers are there to act as a guide, not as something definitive. If you want that PG would need a different number for every title it reviewed.

In the end, if you're having trouble correlating a review with the score I've given it, just don't look at the score. I've said what I need to say in the words above, not in the single number below.
Joined:
Dec 2012
Post count:
108
Eriatarka | 03:20 - 25 April 2013
RaveofRavendale - the problem isn't "different opinions", its the lack of any correlation between the text of the review, and the final score.

If I enjoy a game but someone else hates it and can articulate why, then that is interesting and I will read their opinion seriously. But if they write a 500 word review pointing out all the reasons why the game is boring, and yet finally give a 7/10 score, then I don't know what to think. There have been some great games recently that have received very positive reviews and yet only been marked at 7/10 (e.g. super stickman golf 2), so its puzzling to see a game that has had a negative review be marked the same. Its almost like the final score has nothing to do with the actual review itself.
Joined:
Apr 2013
Post count:
125
Josh Dombro | 00:31 - 25 April 2013
And differing opinions are worse...

Seriously though, the game looks a little weak, which the review seemed to agree with. Harry specifically mentions the message behind the game a few times in the review (including in the score summary), which leads me to believe he's addressing the whole idea of the game, rather than just the gameplay itself.

Looks okay, hard to say I'd rather have this game than just donate to the WWF, though.
Joined:
Apr 2010
Post count:
203
jeffyg3 | 23:02 - 24 April 2013
I agree with RaveofRavendale, differing options are very bad
Joined:
Jul 2012
Post count:
506
Contest Chris | 20:13 - 24 April 2013
At least somebody agrees with me.

PS: Don't get too excited green shirted man, I saw the sarcasm laced in your comment from a mile away.
Joined:
Jul 2012
Post count:
93
@RaveofRavendale | 20:03 - 24 April 2013
Jesus PG, I hate that you guys have opinions that differ from mine. Can you please stop thinking for yourselves and get the same opinions as me, Mr. Angry Internet Man, essentially rendering your reviews pointless. THANK YOU
Joined:
Jul 2012
Post count:
506
Contest Chris | 17:35 - 24 April 2013
Once again a PG review clearly baffles me. This game is well-made, no doubt, but the gameplay is so much like what we've seen before and very unimaginative, not to mention mundane. Also, it is short on content. How does it get 7/10, the same score you have accorded to They Need to be Fed 2? Both games are light years apart in terms of overall quality. If TNTBF2 gets a 7/10, this one deserves no more than 5/10. Honestly speaking, this should have gotten a 5/10.
JOIN THE DISCUSSION: 10 comments >>
 
POPULAR REVIEWS LATEST COMMENTS
LATEST NEWS
LATEST VIDEOS VIDEO REVIEWS