• arrow
    LOG IN 
    • Log in using an option below.
         
      Forgot password?
      Login with Facebook
      Sign in with Twitter

  • REGISTER
Close
ABOUT US
Contact Us Who Are We? Hall Of Fame Advertising With PG Games Archive
BEST GAMES
Best games on iPhone Best games on iPad Best games on Android
FREE STUFF
Best free games on iPhone Best free games on iPad Best free games on Android Competitions
GAME SALES
iPhone game sales iPad game sales Android game sales
UPDATED GAMES
Latest iPhone game updates Latest iPad game updates Latest Android game updates
NEW RELEASES
New iPhone games New iPad games New Android games
MORE PG SITES
PG.biz PG FRANCE PG Game Guides PG GameHubs PG Connects 2014
MORE SM SITES
AppSpy Free App Alliance 148 Apps Android Rundown iPhone Quality Index iPad Quality Index Android Quality Index Swipe Magazine Best App Ever Awards
PARTNERS
Metacritic
GameRankings
Pocket Gamer on NewsNow
GamesTracker
dx.net
UK Mobile Pages Directory
Skinflint Price Comparison
  header logo

The Dark Knight Rises

For:   Also on: AndroidiPhoneMobileiPad
Summary Review Screens Videos Articles Tips  

Bane of my existence

Product: The Dark Knight Rises | Publisher: Gameloft | Format: Android | Genre: Action, Fighting | Players: 1 | File size: 819 MB | Reviewed on: K800i other handsets | Version: Europe
 
The Dark Knight Rises Android, thumbnail 1
You won't be surprised to learn that Gameloft has borrowed some ideas from another Batman game for its Dark Knight Rises tie-in. You don't need to look very closely to realise that the team was heavily inspired by Rocksteady's Arkham games.

That's no bad place to source ideas, of course. Arkham Asylum is probably the best Batman game ever made. But The Dark Knight never escapes the shadow of its influences.

Take the stealth element. When you take a mission from the Gotham city overworld, it's never very smart to head straight into a fist fight without checking the surroundings first. Dark Knight Rises encourages you to take out snipers, shut down security cameras, and erase gun-toting baddies before entering a brawl.

Not the game Gotham deserves

It certainly captures the essence of Batman, but you don't have as many tactical options as in the Arkham games. The Dark Knight can't dangle from rooftops, sneak about under grates, set up explosive traps, or snatch bad guys while perching on gargoyles.

On mobile, he pretty much just uses batarangs, his grapnel, or a handy dive bomb attack to rid the area of nuisance goons.

The one-on-fights are even less sophisticated. You basically just bash on the same button until you win. It has counters, but they're poorly presented.

Arkham
used clever visual and audio cues to alert you to incoming attacks. Rises flags up a counter opportunity by putting an extra button on the screen.

It means you don't get to watch the cool fighting animations: you're watching a bunch of buttons. It's also very particular about when you get to use your items during battles, which means it's extremely tough to take out enemies with guns.

And not the one it needs, either

It all makes for a game that's competent but not particularly fun. In the end, missions boil down to a repetitive series of battles in which you take out snipers and then dive in and beat up the remaining baddies with a flurry of button taps.

It feels like a cheap clone of a proper Batman game. That's a motif that carries across the whole package. The music sounds okay, but it's not actually done by Hans Zimmer. Gotham City looks swish, but get down to ground level and you'll find it's a ghost town. The characters (sometimes) look like their Hollywood versions, but they rarely sound like them.

The game is also loaded with in-app purchases. Maybe it's fitting that Bruce Wayne can buy his way out of a fight, but they're pretty egregious all the same. If you don't pay extra you'll have to grind your way through loads of dull-as-dirt side missions to upgrade Batman.

The Dark Knight Rises is a perfectly playable game, but it's uninspired, unimaginative, and often just boring. Don't expect this to rise above the standards of your common movie tie-in.

 
The Dark Knight Rises
Reviewer photo
Mark Brown | 20 July 2012
Dark Knight is a pale imitation of the Arkham games, with boring combat, cheap presentation, and dull missions. It works, but it never thrills
 
Rate this game >> Average reader score: 
Have Your Say
Post a comment - Please log in to leave a comment
Pocket Gamer Biz     PG Login
Login with Facebook Sign in with Twitter
Show: Latest | Oldest
Joined:
Jul 2012
Post count:
4
sidgoku123 | 21:31 - 24 July 2012
@Chivas77...I understand that people have different opinions but this is just unfair,I cannot find a single category in which TDKR is inferior to TASM,not one.Pocketgamer always seem to be lazy in their reviews they never really mentioned good parts of the game or the bad parts of it,they do this with every other game.I wonder what the standards are really TASM a broken ugly game which had zero enjoyment or fun was given an 8,whereas TDKR a good game with enjoyable story,decent voice acting,better graphics and overall a very enjoyable game was given a 5.Pocket gamer reviews lack any sense of professionalism and are basically sarcastic sneak peaks which fail to provide the reader with basically any insight into the game.they should either switch to a better rating system or else stop putting up nonsense reviews.for a game *site that relies so heavily on ios game reviews and news this is shameful.
Joined:
Jul 2012
Post count:
4
sidgoku123 | 21:29 - 24 July 2012
@Chivas77...I understand that people have different opinions but this is just unfair,I cannot find a single category in which TDKR is inferior to TASM,not one.Pocketgamer always seem to be lazy in their reviews they never really mentioned good parts of the game or the bad parts of it,they do this with every other game.I wonder what the standards are really TASM a broken ugly game which had zero enjoyment or fun was given an 8,whereas TDKR a good game with enjoyable story,decent voice acting,better graphics and overall a very enjoyable game was given a 5.Pocket gamer reviews lack any sense of professionalism and are basically sarcastic sneak peaks which fail to provide the reader with basically any insight into the game.they should either switch to a better rating system or else stop putting up nonsense reviews.for a game that relies so heavily on ios game reviews and news this is shameful.
Joined:
Jan 2010
Post count:
537
curtisrshideler | 21:27 - 23 July 2012
Alright. No matter my complaint on the iPhone 4 having less weather elements and slower frame rate... I just can't stop playing. Probably the most fun I've had with a game for quite a while. And totally brought me back to 3D action/adventure games. I was going to replace it with Batman Arkham City Lockdown until I read that there's a bug that causes iPhone 4 to crash before finishing the game. That settled it. Sticking with TDKR until the end. And loving every frame-dropping minute of it.
Joined:
Nov 2011
Post count:
46
Chivas77 | 12:21 - 22 July 2012
@sidgoku123...Pocketgamer is not a person, both games mentioned were reviewed by different people. You know how normal breathing, functioning people have different views about things? That's kinda what happened there.
Sorry to be patronising, but people will always have differing opinions, it's called real life.

I still stand by my view of Arkham Asylum Lockdown, being the best Batman game on iOS...just slightly
Joined:
Feb 2011
Post count:
93
RazJUK | 14:16 - 21 July 2012
The only thing PocketGamer is good for is news. I really do not trust or respect there opinion on IOS gaming. Anything that has more than a simple one touch control, they seem to despise it, and especially anything by Gameloft. We all know Cloneloft are not the most original of companies and are guilty of cutting corners and releasing unfinished games. But seriously, no other company can match what these guys can do on IOS and Android.
The closest that anyone else has come is the guys who did Dead Space and Mass Effect Infiltrator.
I mean, they begrudgingly gave the superb NOVA 3 an 8.
Seriously PG, most IOS gamers are used to touch controls now, and choose to play that way. Maybe you should just stick to VIta and 3DS reviews.
Joined:
Jul 2012
Post count:
4
sidgoku123 | 07:12 - 21 July 2012
if this game deserves a 5 then spiderman should not be more than a 2.it really is a perfect example of double standards.DKR is better than TASM in every single category be it story,missions,graphics,sound or the feeling of being a superhero,really I think editors at pocket gamer don't understand what a good game is.this is the height of an unfair and clumsy review TASM which was such a broken game got 8 and DKR which is certainly more varied and enjoyable gets a 5.really pocket gamer you guys need to adjust your standards and start actually rating games by different categories like story,graphics,gameplay,sound.don't just put a small sneak peak of a game which fails to describes pros and cons of a game.I can never really trust pocket gamer not at least for the reviews.
Joined:
Jul 2012
Post count:
51
roman143 | 22:30 - 20 July 2012
I think this game deserves a better class of review. I'm not the one to do it, but I think it deserves an 8.0 in my own personal opinion. I mean I know it's nothing compared to games like "Arkham Asylum" but to be playing this game on my Live with Walkman with this nice graphics, gameplay and everything it's very good.
Joined:
Feb 2011
Post count:
93
RazJUK | 21:35 - 20 July 2012
So a hugely disappointing dissapointing and unfinished Amazing Spiderman gets an 8, and a superior looking Batman with better missions/story/ combat gets a 5???
I read Pocketgamers review before buying the game, and completely ignored it, because to be honest there crap and not worth screen there typed on.
Luckily I read the Touch Gen review which convinced me to get the game. A website that offers far more honest and intelligent reviews.
Worthy of an 8.5 in my opinion.
Joined:
Jan 2010
Post count:
537
curtisrshideler | 21:17 - 20 July 2012
Sure wish the app description mentioned that the graphics would be scaled back on an iPhone 4. Haven't seen a drop of rain or a single lightning strike! Talked about robbing me of the atmosphere. Guess this is just another one I'll have to play on my iPad 2 instead. Man, I hope that'll have some rain and lightning.
Joined:
Aug 2011
Post count:
9
0wl | 20:12 - 20 July 2012
Welcome to the in app asylum !

Its sad to see one of the best developers and publisher give in to the in app purchase side and lower their standards in order to push transactions, there is no future for gaming in this new market model, its like starting again with the wrong foot, and forgeting about the legacy of what the game industry gave us.

Apple should reconsider the way this is implemented in their iOS platform, now its all about exploiting it, hit and run like attitude, low or no commitment beetwen developer and user to deliver a complete quality product. All this is ruining the user experience, and in the future it will gain no trust !

Balance its the word of the game, there aren't just casual gamers out there ...
JOIN THE DISCUSSION: 14 comments >>
 
POPULAR REVIEWS
LATEST COMMENTS
LATEST NEWS
LATEST VIDEOS VIDEO REVIEWS